Adele and 21

Adele-21-2

Call this a lazy article, or whatever it is, which is basically me re-posting the best lyrics off Adele’s brilliant album. I’m so in love with 21 that I don’t care what you call this, but I just had to share the brilliance with people who haven’t given the album a chance for whatever reason.

What we have here is the best lyrics from each song off the album. Why did I decide to do this? Well, why not? I love this album, and even though millions of copies have been sold, we need to keep spreading the word on its brilliance. It ‘s such a beautiful and haunting album, and the following is the poetry that has been created by Adele and her co-writers.

 

Finally I can see you crystal clear.

See how I’ll leave with every piece of you. Don’t underestimate the things that I will do.

The scars of your love remind me of us. They keep me thinking that we almost had it all. The scars of your love, they leave me breathless. I can’t help feeling we could have had it all.

You had my heart inside your hand.

Think of me in the depths of your despair

–Rolling in the Deep

 

She’s not real. She won’t be able to love you like I will.

She is a stranger. You and I have history or don’t you remember?

She is half your age, but I’m guessing that’s the reason that you stayed.

I heard you been missing me. You’ve been telling people things you shouldn’t be.

You made a fool out of me and boy, I’m bringing you down.

You made my heart melt and yet I’m cold to the core.

Rumour has it I’m the one you’re leaving her for.

All of these words whispered in my ear tell a story that I cannot bear to hear.

Rumour has it he’s the one I’m leaving you for

–Rumour Has It

 

Close enough to start a war.

So I won’t let you close enough to hurt me.

Under haunted skies I see where love is lost, your ghost is found.

I’ve braved a hundred storms to leave you.

As hard as you try, no, I will never be knocked down.

Next time I’ll be braver, I’ll be my own savior

–Turning Tables

 

When will I see you again?

You left with no goodbye, not a single word was said.

No final kiss to seal anything, I had no idea of the state we were in.

I know I have a fickle heart and a bitterness and a wandering eye and a heaviness in my head.

But don’t you remember? The reason you loved me before?

Baby, please remember me once more.

When was the last time you thought of me?

Or have you completely erased me from your memory?

I kept my distance so you would be free and hope that you find the missing piece to bring you back to me.

Why don’t you remember?

–Don’t You Remember?

 

I let it fall, my heart, and as it fell you rose to claim it.

It was dark and I was over until you kissed my lips and you saved me.

My hands, they’re strong, but my knees were far too weak to stand in your arms without falling to your feet.

There’s a side to you that I never knew.

All the things you’d say, they were never true.

When laying with you I could stay there, close my eyes and feel you here forever.

You and me together, nothing is better.

I set fire to the rain and I threw us into the flames where I felt something die because I knew that was the last time.

Sometimes I wake up by the door.

Now that you’ve gone, I must be waiting for you.

Even now when it’s already over, I can’t help myself from looking for you

–Set Fire to the Rain

 

Someday I’ll be better without you.

They don’t know you like I do, or at least the sides I thought I knew.

I can’t bear this time. It drags on as I lose my mind.

Reminded by the things I find, like notes and clothes you left behind.

Wake me up when all is done.

My dignity’s become undone.

I won’t forgive me if I give up trying.

I heard his voice today. I didn’t know a single word he said.

Not one resemblance to the man I met, just a vacant, broken boy instead.

I won’t go, he can’t do this on his own.

If this isn’t love then what it?

We’re willing to take the risk

–He Won’t Go

 

Didn’t I give it all?

I tried my best and gave you everything I had; everything and no less.

Did I let you down?

Maybe you got too used to having me around.

Still how can you walk away from all my tears?

It’s going to be an empty road without me right here.

But go on and take it all, don’t look back at this crumbling fool.

Maybe I should leave to help you see nothing is better than this and this is everything we need.

So is it over? Is it really over?

You’re giving up so easily. I thought you loved me more than this.

If only you knew, everything I do is for you

–Take it All

 

Hold me closer one more time.

Say that you love me in your last goodbye.

I’ve seen your face under every sky, over every border and every line.

We had time against us and miles between us.

The heavens cried, I know I left you speechless.

Now the sky has cleared and it’s blue, and I see my future in you.

I’ll be waiting for you when you’re ready to love me again.

I’ll do everything different, I’ll be better to you.

I’ll be somebody different.

Let me stay here for just one more night.

So I can tell you that I was wrong, I was a child then

–I’ll be waiting

 

You’ve been on my mind, I grow fonder every day.

I lose myself in time just thinking of your face.

God only knows why it’s taken me so long to let my doubts go.

You’re the only one that I want.

I don’t know why I’m scared, I’ve been here before.

Every feeling, every word, I’ve imagined it all.

You’ll never know if you never try to forget your past and simply be mine.

I dare you to let me be your one and only.

I promise I’m worthy to hold in your arms.

Lose yourself in time at the mention of my name.

Will I ever know how it feels to hold you close and have you tell me whichever road I choose you will go?

I know it’s not easy giving up your heart

–One and Only

 

Whenever I’m alone with you, you make me feel like I am home again.

Whenever I’m alone with you, you make me feel like I am whole again.

Whenever I’m alone with you, you make me feel like I am young again.

Whenever I’m alone with you, you make me feel like I am fun again.

However far away, I will always love you.

Whenever I’m alone with you, you make me feel like I am free again.

–Love Song

 

I’ve heard that you settled down, that you found a girl and that you’re married now.

I heard that your dreams came true.

I guess she gave you things, I didn’t give to you.

Old friend, why are you so shy?

It’s not like you to hold back or hide from the light.

I hate to turn up out of the blue uninvited, but I couldn’t stay away, I couldn’t fight it.

I had hoped you’d see my face and that you’d be reminded that for me, it isn’t over.

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you.

I wish nothing but the best for you, too.

Don’t forget me, I beg.

I remember you said: sometimes it lasts in love and sometimes it hurts instead.

You know how the time flies.

Only yesterday was the time of our lives.

Nothing compares. No worries or cares.

Regrets and mistakes, they are memories made.

Who would have known how bittersweet this would taste?

–Someone like You

Leave a Reply

