Ten (More) ‘The Wonder Years’ Quotes

The Essence of Adolescence

I’ve done a list before of my favorite quotes from this wonderful show. I’ve professed my love for the show as well. The innocence of growing up, the narration and looking back at a simpler time-what’s not to love? Well, I’ve decided to add ten more amazing quotes. There’s certainly enough classic lines and narration to choose from, well, here’s ten more. Enjoy:

10. What we felt in those years, the hope, the joy, the possibilities, the sense that anything might happen no matter who we were, will always be a part of us. After all, people said the Beatles would never last, and they were right…except of course, they did.

9. We didn’t really accomplish anything that night. Nothing of real importance, anyway. But through the high school years that lay ahead…there would be a thousand other nights, just like that one. Stupid, ridiculous…and glorious.

8. There’s a dream that is as old as natural grass, and nickel hot dogs…and being young. It’s a dream every kid shares. The one big moment. Hero time. Of course, when you’re five…that dream doesn’t seem out of reach. Everyone plays the game about the same. Bad. Still, for all your short-comings…you’ve got one thing that matters most. Potential. Then…as springtime rolls into fall, and Little League gives way to summer jobs…somehow the dream gets left behind.

7. When you’re a little kid, you are a bit of everything-artist, scientist, athlete, scholar. Sometimes, it seems life is like a process of giving those things up, one by one. I guess we all have one thing we regret giving up. One thing we really miss. And we gave up because we were too lazy. We couldn’t stick it out. Or because we were too afraid.

6. For me, that year Christmas stopped being about tinsel and wrapping paper, and started being about memory. At first I was disappointed. Until I learned that memory is a way of holding on to the things you love, the things you are, the things you wish to never lose. And I learned from Winnie, that in a world that changed too fast, the best we can do is wish each other Merry Christmas.

5. Love makes you do funny things. It makes you proud. It makes you sorry. That night we talked. About life. About our times together. Maybe we weren’t the same two kids we had once been. But some things never change. Some things last. And even though I didn’t know what was going to happen to us, or where we were going. I just knew I couldn’t let her out of my life.

4. Sometimes when you’re a kid, you lie awake at night and ponder the kinds of questions that grownups have long since stopped asking. Questions like-What does it feel like to be dead? Are time and space really infinite? What was there before the universe began? Why are there people like Wayne?

3. In junior high school there were days when you felt like nothing was worth getting out of bed for. But then, you remembered, you were going to see her…your day was going to have these moments. Moments that were full of…possibility. When you were sure that something-something…was going to happen. And then, there were the moments that made you really, really…nervous.

2. Over the course of the average lifetime you meet a lot of people. Some of them stick with you through thick and thin. Some weave their way through your life and disappear forever. But once in a while someone comes along who earns a permanent place in your heart.

1. As I stepped back up to the plate…all the cares, all the worries, all the burdens I’d carried around for the past few days just disappeared. Suddenly, the outside world fell away. It was just me…and baseball. My moment had arrived. And I knew what I had to do. I’m not sure how I did it. My memory begins with the crack of the bat, and the sight of the ball rising. Maybe that’s not exactly the way it happened. But that’s the way it should have happened, and that’s the way I like to remember it. And if dreams and memories sometimes get confused well…that’s as it should be. Because every kid deserves to be a hero…every kid already is.

If you haven’t checked out the first bundle of quotes, here’s the link to that article:

https://straightedgeisbeautiful.wordpress.com/2011/03/30/top-ten-the-wonder-years-quotes/

Leave a Reply

