Never Forget

I was too young and so different. I will never forget those times.

I walked alone throughout the experience and there are moments that will never escape my mind.

Some of it was so dark yet so vivid. It’s a bit hard to explain.

What remained through it all was on display on my chest: my name.

I remember approaching Ft. Benning on a bus while it was pitch black.

There was nothing and so much going through my head then bam, no time to react.

Those times we hit the ground running, I can appreciate now.

I didn’t have to drive myself crazy and over think everything; why, when and how.

I will never forget the planes; looking down at such a quiet place…

Then remembering where I was going; I couldn’t help the smile on my face.

Texas sticks out. It was another quiet and dark night alone.

I was in the middle of nowhere: no laptops or phones.

I wrote so many stories and poems in my head that it’s a shame that’s where they stayed.

My mind: so dark, angry, hopeful and naïve, what a beautiful place.

I was 19-years-old, flying, running and walking around the world. It amazes me to this day.

A hopeful romantic at heart. I believe that’s what kept me from going insane.

I remember the dreams of finding my other half.

There was so much disappointment, but now I have the last laugh.

I will never forget the first day in the Middle East and not knowing what to expect.

It almost didn’t feel real. These are choices that I will never regret.

I made mistakes. I learned and I made a lot of good friends.

They will always remain with me even if I never see them again.

I can’t forget where I come from, even if I don’t recognize it anymore.

I’ll remember good times as well as bad, love as well as war.

I remember the obstacles, the desert and the woods.

It all made me a better man…I finally understood.

Life is about respect and honor. I never disgraced myself; to myself I can’t lie.

No matter how much time passes, I will never forget those times.

Leave a Reply

