Top Ten ‘The Wonder Years’ Quotes

Let’s look at my ten favorite quotes from the awesome, nostalgia-inducing show that screams of Americana, The Wonder Years:

10. Love is never simple. Not for fathers and sons. We spend our lives full of hope and expectations. And most of the time we are bound to fail. But that afternoon as I watched my father sheltering his son against a future that was so unsure, all I knew was they didn’t want to let each other down anymore.

9. In 7th grade, who you are is what other 7th graders say you are. The funny thing is it’s hard to remember the names of the kids you spent so much time trying to impress.

8. And so Winnie and I had our one slow dance after all. But things wouldn’t be the same between us. We were getting older. All we could do was close our eyes and wish that the slow song would never end.

7. I knew at that moment, that life was not fair. Sure, I’d write to Teri, and maybe she’d write me-then what? Could we really wait for each other for the next 10 or 12 years? It was hopeless. I’d never felt pain like this before in my entire life. It felt, wonderful.

6. Don’t accept all this death and then justify it. It is wrong! Your friends should be alive, they should be enjoying dinner, and arguing with their kids, just like you are. This is my draft notice. In two weeks, I can go to jail, I can go to Canada or I can go get shot full of holes like your friend Brian Cooper. You keep thinking the way you do, Mr. Arnold, and these two will be next.

5. Once upon a time there was a girl I knew that lived across the street. Brown hair, brown eyes. When she smiled, I smiled. Every single thing that happened to me that mattered, in some way, had to do with her. That day we promised each other that we’d always be together. It was the kind of promise that could only come from the hearts of the very young.

4. There was a time when the world was enormous: spanning the vast, almost infinite boundaries of your neighborhood. The place where you grew up, where you didn’t think twice about playing on someone else’s lawn. The street was your territory that occasionally got invaded by a passing car. It was where you didn’t get called home until after it was dark. And all the people, and all the houses that surrounded you were as familiar as the things in your own room.

3. 1968. I was 12 years old. A lot happened that year. There’s no pretty way to put this, I grew up in the suburbs. I guess most people think of the suburb as a place with all the disadvantages of the city, and none of the advantages of the country. And vice versa. But, in a way, those really were the wonder years for us. It was kind of a golden age for kids.

2. All our young lives we search for someone to love. Someone who makes us complete. We dance to a song of heartbreak and hope. All the while wondering if somewhere, somehow, there’s someone perfect, who might be searching for us.

1. Growing up happens in a heartbeat. One day you’re in diapers, the next day you’re gone. But the memories of childhood stay with you for the long haul. I remember a place, a town, a house like other houses, a yard like a lot of other yards, on a street like a lot of other streets. And the thing is, after all these years , I still look back, with wonder.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten ‘The Wonder Years’ Quotes

  1. Wow! How incredibly hard it must have been… this show was SO full of great words… I think every person finds the greatest according to what they lived. Great choices! My favorite series forever and ever.

  2. it just leaves a tear in my eyes very time i listen to the narrator tells these line . . .. . i really means so much . . . . .

Leave a Reply

